We may receive commissions when you buy through links on our site. Click here to learn more

Naturehike tents review

There are a lot of junky tents on the market right now... 

It might seem like you’re getting a great deal on your tent, but the vast majority of cheap tents will start tearing and leaking on the first trip.

I made a big mistake when I bought my first backpacking tent. 

Dazzled by the low price and big promises in the product description, I basically ordered a glorified pile of junk. When my “ultralight” tent arrived, it was too big and heavy to fit in my pack. Plus, the seams were already falling apart and the poles looked like they would snap in a breeze. 

If you want to avoid wasting your money on something that will just end up in a landfill, I highly recommend that you read this Naturehike tents review article.

All the tents that I recommend offer a good balance between price and quality, so you can safely enjoy the great outdoors without breaking the bank.

Naturehike Tents Review

The following 10 tents are suitable for hiking, bicycle packing, or motorcycle touring. They offer an outstanding balance between weight, price, and weatherproofing, and are ideal for one to three people, depending on the model.

Naturehike Cloud Up 1

Naturehike Cloud-Up 1 Person Tent
$119.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:46 am GMT

The Naturehike Cloud 1 is a low-budget, one-person tent that is super easy to pitch. You set up the Cloud 1 with a single hub-style pole and quick-clip system, so you should be able to get it up in a couple of minutes once you’ve had some practice.

The Cloud Up 1 is ideal for a solo backpacking trip because you don’t want to be messing around with a complicated pitching system after a long hike. 

The rainfly can resist up to 4000mm of water, while the bathtub-style floor will help prevent any water from seeping up through the ground. So long as you respray the waterproof coating after each heavy rainfall and use the included tent footprint, this tent should last you for many camping trips in the great outdoors.

If you go for the upgraded version, you’ll have a second vent in the sleeping compartment, which will reduce condensation and cool down your tent in the summer. 

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Cloud 1

Pros
  • Easy to pitch
  • Windproof and Waterproof 
  • Strong frame 
  • Suitable for backpacking
  • Heat reflecting color 
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Limited ventilation 
  • Limited gear storage

Naturehike Cloud Up 2

Naturehike Cloud-Up 2 Tent
$119.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:43 am GMT

The Cloud Up 2 is a slightly larger version of the Cloud Up 1. Officially, it’s a two-person tent, but it would be better for one person who wants more space to spread out or an adult and a child. 

It would also be a good choice for an adult and a dog. Just watch the dog’s claws on the tent floor because they’ll shred it if they’re not clipped short!

With a waterproof coating of up to 3000mm, the Cloud Up 2 is slightly less water-resistant than the Cloud Up 1. That said, 3000mm is more than enough for most camping conditions, especially if you correctly pitch out the guy lines to prevent moisture from transferring to the inner tent. 

You can get an upgraded version with a second vent, which I highly recommend you do. It will be worth it in the long run because you won’t end up having to buy a better-ventilated tent as you progress in your camping journey.

Just like the Cloud Up 1, this tent is easy to set up, affordable, and reliable. You’ll be grateful for the extra floor space to spread out, but with only one door and vestibule, I’d recommend going for a different tent if two adults will be sharing the space.

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Cloud 2

Pros
  • Suitable for backpacking
  • Waterproof and Windproof
  • Seam taped rainfly and floor
  • Footprint included (By the time of writing)
  • Easy to set up 
  • More spacious than the Cloud 1
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Only one vestibule and door
  • Limited ventilation in the basic version 
  • Cramped for two adults sharing

Naturehike Cloud Up 3 

Naturehike Cloud-Up 3, Lightweight Backpacking Tent
$159.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:47 am GMT

An even bigger version of the Cloud Up 2, the Cloud Up 3 is the first version of this tent that I would recommend for two people sharing. It has only a single door and vestibule but the additional floor space means that you can bring some of your kit into the tent with you.

At 2.6 kg, this tent is a little heavy for hiking. It’ll be fine for weekend trips but it’s not the best choice for long-distance thru-hiking. It would certainly be a fantastic choice for bike touring, though it’d be a good idea to share the tent weight with the person you’ll be sleeping next to. 

The upgraded version has fixed many small issues with the first version, making this a really comfortable and reliable tent. I’d absolutely recommend it for two people, and you’ll have enough space to bring along your dog, too. 

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Cloud 3

Pros
  • Waterproof and Windproof
  • Seam taped rainfly and floor
  • Footprint included (By the time of writing)
  • Easy to set up
  • Can comfortably sleep two people
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Getting a little heavy for backpacking - proceed with caution
  • Only one vestibule and door
  • Limited ventilation in the basic version 
  • Cramped for three adults sharing

Naturehike Mongar 2

Best For Tall People
Naturehike Mongar 2 Person, 3 Season Tent
$169.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:59 am GMT

The Mongar 2 is my favorite Naturehike tent!

This is a fantastic tent for two people who want to hit the trails, and it’s much more comfortable than most affordable tents of the same weight. Taller people will have enough space to spread out, which makes for a nice change!

You’ve got two separate doors, so you won’t have to climb over your tent buddy as you come and go. Each entry has a vestibule, so there’s plenty of room to store your kit.

With 4000mm+ of water resistance and 50+ UV protection, this tent will take good care of you in the summer as well as the wet and windy months. For the price, I have yet to find a better two-person tent for the great outdoors.

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Mongar 2

Pros
  • Spacious interior
  • Plenty of gear storage
  • 2 doors for easy entry and exit
  • Built-in vents for breathability
  • Waterproof materials
  • Strong frame
  • Tent footprint included (By the time of writing)
  • Great for tall people
  • Easy to pitch
  • Great value
  • Light enough for backpacking 
Cons
  • Could be too heavy for long-distance thru-hiking

Naturehike Star River 2

Best For Spreading Out
Naturehike Star River 2 - Lightweight 4 Season Tent
$129.00 - $159.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:44 am GMT

The Star River 2 is slightly more expensive than most Naturehike tents but the investment is absolutely worth it. What’s special about this model is that you get a surprising amount of floor space for the weight and pack-down size.

This means you’ll have more space to sleep comfortably without wrecking your back during the hike to your camping spot.

Just like with the Mongar 2, it has two vestibules and two doors, so you can store your kit outside the main sleeping compartment.

The ventilation is a bit limited, and I would prefer to see a second vent to keep the interior nice and cool in the summer months. One solution is to pitch in the direction of the breeze, or you could take down your tent during the hottest part of the day to prevent heat from building up in the sleeping compartment.

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Star River 2

Pros
  • Two doors for easy access
  • Two vestibules for kit storage 
  • Free tent footprint (By the time of writing) 
  • Waterproof (4000mm+)
  • Windproof
  • Strong, durable frame
  • Lightweight
  • Suitable for year-round camping
  • Affordable
Cons
  • Limited ventilation

Naturehike Taga 2

Best For Backpacking Couple
Naturehike Taga 2 Person Lightweight Backpacking Tent
$119.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:59 am GMT

The Naturehike Taga 2 is a great option for long-distance hiking. It is set up with a single pole, so you save valuable weight when you’re on the trails. 

What’s cool about this tent is that you can reinforce the structure with your hiking poles if the weather is windy, so you don’t lose any structural integrity as a result of the weight savings.

The single tent skin saves even more weight.

This shouldn’t make the tent any less waterproof but it can lead to more condensation on the inner wall. You can address this by cracking open all the vents and storing any wet kit in the small vestibule. 

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Taga 2

Pros
  • Ripstop rainfly 
  • 4000mm water resistance
  • Vestibule for kit 
  • Extremely lightweight - suitable for thru-hiking 
  • UV protection 
  • Footprint included (By the time of writing)
Cons
  • Limited ventilation
  • Cramped for two people

Naturehike Vik 1

Best For Solo Backpacker
Naturehike VIK 1 - Ultralight Backpacking Tent
$139.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:41 am GMT

The Vik 1 is the lightest tent that Naturehike produces, so it’s a brilliant choice for solo backpacking and thru-hiking.

It has some really cool features to optimize comfort. For example, small magnets are sewn into the door fabric to make coming and going as easy as possible. You can also set up a little sheltered foyer with your trekking poles by slotting them into the notches in the tent door.

The rainfly is coated only to 2000mm, which is half the water-resistance of the Taga 2. The Vik 1 is lighter than the Taga 2, though, and is a much better option for a solo camper.

If you’re going to be covering long distances in reasonably mild weather, the Vik 1 would be the best choice. For a wetter and windier itinerary, I’d take the slightly heavier Taga 2.

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Vik 1

Pros
  • Built-in magnets to protect zippers from rain
  • Lightweight
  • Waterproof (seam-taped rainfly)
  • Inner storage pockets for mobile phones
  • Vestibule to protect kit (doubles as tarp with walking poles)
  • Comes with a free tent footprint (By the time of writing)
  • Strong aluminum poles
  • Skylight window for ventilation
  • Sun protection UV 50+
  • Freestanding
  • Great value
Cons
  • Single layer tends to hold more condensation
  • Not the best for cold weather

Naturehike Hiby 3

Best For Cooking In Foul Weather
Naturehike Hiby 3 Person Backpacking Tent
$219.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 11:00 am GMT

What’s great about the Hiby 3 is that it has an extra pole to create a large porch area. 

This storage space is essential if you’re going to be using the tent with three people. It also provides a sheltered area where you can prepare meals if the weather is foul.

Caution: Attempt to cook in this area only if you have a small stove that is nice and stable on flat ground and youve opened both the side panels for ventilation and escape routes. Never leave a stove unattended in this area!

There are a few drawbacks with the Hiby 3. It’s too heavy for thru-hiking, so you’d be better off using it for bicycle or motorbike touring. The guylines are also black, which is a design flaw. 

The guylines’ dark color makes them easy to trip over at night—and the last thing you need is an injury when you’re lost in the great outdoors. 

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Hiby 3

Pros
  • Large porch
  • Transparent roof window for stargazing
  • Waterproof rainfly 
  • UV protection 
  • Freestanding 
  • Comes with a free footprint (By the time of writing)
  • Good ventilation
Cons
  • Guy ropes are dark and flimsy 
  • Heavy for backpacking

Naturehike Cloud Peak 2

Budget Copy Of Hilleberg Allak
Naturehike Cloud Peak 2 Person 4 Season Tent
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

The Naturehike Cloud Peak 2 is a low-budget copy of the top-of-the-range Hilleberg Allak Tent

It shares the same overall design as the Hilleberg but the materials are obviously not as high-quality in an entry-level version.

I love that this tent has two doors because it really does transform your camping experience if you are sharing your tent. It also has sealed seams to protect you from the rain; these seams aren’t always present in Naturehike tents.

This tent will keep you warm and dry for a weekend trip in foul weather but it’s not going to perform as well as the Hilleberg at high altitudes or in extreme climates, so don’t let appearances fool you.

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Cloud Peak 2

Pros
  • Lightweight 
  • Vestibule for kit 
  • Waterproof and Windproof
  • Taped seams
  • Strong aluminum frame 
  • Two doors - more comfortable to share
  • Discreet green color - better for wild camping
  • Sun protection 
Cons
  • Low-quality zippers - tend to break if you aren’t careful
  • Light-duty floor - may be vulnerable to tearing without a tent footprint

Naturehike Opalus 3

Best For Bike Touring
Naturehike Opalus Backpacking Tent
$229.00
CHECK ON AMAZON
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
07/26/2021 10:42 am GMT

The final tent that’s worth mentioning in this article is the Opalus 3.

This tent has an enormous porch area, big enough to store bicycles. This can be such a relief if you’re bike touring because you can hide your precious gear out of sight, as well as keep it dry, thereby preventing rust or water damage.

This isn’t a good choice for hiking, though; it’s simply too heavy. 

The seams are not sealed, which can increase the risk of leaking in extended lousy weather. This is a shame in a tent of this price but due to the exceptional design, I’d still recommend it for cyclists.

Just be cautious before use in extended downpours, and make sure to spray the tent with an extra waterproof coating on a regular basis.

Click here to read our in-depth review of the Naturehike Opalus 3

Pros
  • Large porch area - big enough to store bicycles
  • Two large porch doors 
  • Waterproof and Windproof
  • Compact and light for its size
  • Spacious for two people sharing
  • Anti-scratch, breathable inner tent 
  • Ripstop outer tent and tent floor 
  • Angled vent in the sleeping compartment - good for rainy weather
  • Strong frame
Cons
  • Heavy for hiking on foot 
  • Seams don’t appear to be heat sealed 
  • Only one vent in the sleeping area - limits airflow

About Naturehike Brand 

Naturehike is a low-budget camping brand that produces surprisingly high-quality tents for the price. Most Naturehike tents are suitable for backpacking, bike touring, or motorcycle camping. 

The tents that Naturehike produces are near copies of higher-end brands; however, Naturehike uses cheaper materials and a faster manufacturing process to cut down on costs.

With that in mind, you cannot expect these tents to perform as well as the brands that they are mimicking but Naturehike tents are more than suitable for the majority of campers in a range of climates.

The gear is designed and manufactured in China.

What’s So Special About Naturehike Tents Compared to Other Tents? 

The majority of tents on the market right now are either eye-wateringly expensive expedition tents or cheap junk that will leak and rip in no time. 

What’s unique about Naturehike is that the company’s tents offer an outstanding balance between price and quality. They aren’t the cheapest tents on the market but they are considerably more waterproof, more windproof, and lighter than their competitors.

Many outdoor brands falsely claim their kit is suitable for hiking but Naturehike models are some of the best-priced entry-level tents that are genuinely appropriate for backpacking. 

A Note on Tent Seasons

Naturehike frequently claims that its tents are suitable for 4 seasons. I disagree with this and would ask you to treat the products as 3 season tents for your safety.

This is simply because the tents do not hold enough heat for extremely cold conditions, and the frames could collapse under a heavy snowpack.

Final Thoughts 

I have a lot of respect for the Naturehike brand. For the price, the quality of the gear is exceedingly good, and many of the company’s tents are genuinely suitable for backpacking and thru-hiking adventures.

That said, you have to bear in mind that low-budget gear won’t be the best for extreme conditions, and it’s not reasonable to expect it to perform as well as top-of-the-range expedition gear. 

For the vast majority of campers and climates, though, Naturehike tents are a comfortable and reliable choice.

I hope you found this Naturehike tents review article helpful, and I wish you many happy camping adventures in your new tent!

Rachel Horne - Writer for the camper lifestyle

Rachel Horne

Rachel is a freelance adventure writer and founder of Highly Sensitive Nomad. When she isn’t writing, she can be found wild camping in the mountains and swimming in the lakes of Europe.


Related Posts